“On Margins,” or, if you prefer, “OMG Nairns!”

On Margins

Talking about making books with good people who make great books

Craig Mod
3 min readMay 17, 2017

--

It’s probably unnecessary, and I don’t know what I’m doing, but here’s a new podcast for you.¹

As I say in Episode 001:

I’ve been working on and with books for over 15 years; as a designer, a publisher, a producer, and an author, and what I’ve realized over time is that the margins of a great book run deep. The more I’ve worked on my own books, the more I’ve come to realize that the white space and untold stories behind how and why a book is made are not only compelling but essential, and it’s within those margins that I want to spend some time.

Some, come on, let’s talk about margins.

On the first episode I blab with researcher and designer Jan Chipchase, founder of Studio D, and most recently, author and publisher of an incredible, astounding, kick-you-in-the-teeth new book about engaging with the world, decoding culture, and being a respectful and insightful traveller, The Field Study Handbook.

The Field Study Handbook

On Margins is the result of a coffee in February (2017) with Jan, so I’m grateful to him for instigating this little venture.

--

--